Roppongi Hills’ Keyakizaka illumination runs November 5–December 25, 2026, normally 17:00–22:00. Its Christmas market starts later, on November 21, and closes earlier each evening, at 21:00. For an early-November visit, plan a lights walk rather than a market dinner. For a late arrival during market season, decide whether food or the illuminated street matters more before choosing your first stop.
Checked October 20, 2026. Times are Japan Standard Time. This guide uses published information, not a firsthand visit. Images are conceptual illustrations. Opening-day and crowd-control changes can affect lighting hours.
- Choose your date: the lights and market do not start together
- After dinner: what is still worth visiting?
- Get to Roppongi Hills, then find Keyakizaka
- Photograph the lights without entering the road
- Market food, tickets and a sensible budget
- Tokyo Midtown is another venue, with another start date
- Cold, rain and a shorter evening
- Frequently asked questions
- When does Keyakizaka illumination start in 2026?
- Do the lights stay on until 23:00?
- What should I visit after 21:00?
- Can I see the Christmas programme on December 26?
- Is the market definitely free to enter?
- Which exit is useful for Roppongi Hills?
- Are Roppongi Hills and Tokyo Midtown the same place?
- Do I need Tokyo City View admission for a street photograph?
- Can I rely on the pictures here for the route?
- Official sources
Choose your date: the lights and market do not start together
“Roppongi Christmas” covers several installations, each with its own calendar. The main event announcement spans early November to Christmas Day, but that does not mean everything opens on the first evening. The table below separates the stops you can actually plan around.
| Stop | 2026 dates | Announced hours |
|---|---|---|
| Keyakizaka illumination | November 5–December 25 | 17:00–22:00 |
| 66 Plaza illumination | November 13–December 27 | 17:00–24:00; December 27 until 23:00 |
| Mohri Garden illumination | November 13–December 25 | 17:00–23:00 |
| West Walk Christmas tree | November 13–December 25 | Check facility access hours |
| Christmas market, O-Yane Plaza | November 21–December 25 | 11:00–21:00 |
These schedules come from Mori Building’s September 30 announcement. The first evening can have a different switch-on time. Keyakizaka’s hours can also change with crowd conditions, so do not make the final few minutes your only opportunity.
For November 5–12, make Keyakizaka the purpose of the visit. From November 13–20, add the other announced lights and tree, but arrange dinner independently of the market. From November 21, a market stop becomes an option. This date-first approach also helps if one person wants photographs and another mainly wants seasonal food: you can agree on an evening that offers both.

After dinner: what is still worth visiting?
Choose by the earliest closing stop you care about. A market closing at 21:00 and street lights ending at 22:00 call for different plans. The examples below are our planning suggestions, not official itineraries or measured walking times. They assume the relevant installations are operating on your date.
| Your situation | Suggested priority | What to leave flexible |
|---|---|---|
| Arriving around 18:00 | Choose lights first or market first according to your main interest | Dinner and extra stops |
| Arriving around 20:15, hungry | Look at the market before committing to a queue | A full meal there; opening hours do not guarantee food availability |
| Arriving around 20:15, already fed | Prioritize Keyakizaka photographs and a short walk | Shopping or another installation |
| Arriving around 21:15 | Skip the market; choose a short lights visit | Completing every stop |
| Arriving near 22:00 | Recheck the current status before making a special trip | Seeing Keyakizaka; later hours elsewhere do not extend it |
For example, two friends finishing dinner at 20:30 do not need to race through stalls they no longer want to visit. They can go directly toward their chosen light display. Conversely, someone relying on the market for dinner should arrive earlier and keep a restaurant alternative. We have not measured queues or verified stall-by-stall last orders.
Keep the return journey separate from the lights’ closing time. Save the route to your accommodation before walking, including any final connection. Our Tokyo last-train and taxi guide helps with that decision.
Get to Roppongi Hills, then find Keyakizaka
Save Roppongi Hills / 六本木ヒルズ as the destination, and Keyakizaka / けやき坂 as the street you want. A pin at the station is only the start of the walk. “Roppongi” alone is too vague for meeting friends or choosing a station exit.
The official museum and observatory access FAQ identifies Hibiya Line Roppongi Station Exit 1C as the direct connection to Roppongi Hills. If you arrive on the Oedo Line, its directions use Exit 3. This is access to the complex; it is not a promise that the lights are immediately outside your train carriage.
Once there, use the official access information and local signs to orient yourself before continuing to the street. Agree on a named meeting point instead of “under the lights.” Avoid stopping an entire group at the top of an escalator while someone searches their phone.
If steps are a problem, ask station or complex staff for the elevator route rather than following the shortest route automatically. Roppongi Hills lists accessible toilets and wheelchair and stroller services in its facility information. Availability and conditions apply; a service listing does not establish that every outdoor path is step-free.

Photograph the lights without entering the road
Keyakizaka is a city street, not a pedestrian-only photo set. Choose a position on the sidewalk, keep crossings clear and follow signals and staff instructions. A photograph that appears to have been taken from the middle of the road is not a reason to stand there yourself.
Mori Building’s announcement describes blue-and-white lighting along roughly 400 metres of trees and identifies photo viewpoints near Emporio Armani and Roppongi Tsutaya Books. Treat those as places to look for a safe position, not a guarantee of an empty view. Tokyo Tower can be part of the composition from suitable viewpoints; visibility and space are not guaranteed.
Our suggestion is to take one wider photograph and one closer detail, then move aside. Review pictures away from the busiest flow of people. Keep children beside you while changing settings, and avoid a tripod setup that narrows the usable pavement. There is no need to turn a short winter walk into a search for one exact social-media angle.
For a straightforward phone photograph, first try the normal camera with a steady grip. Review the result before switching modes; automatic night modes can change how bright the scene appears. The images in this guide are not references for exact lighting colours, crowd levels or where to stand.

Market food, tickets and a sensible budget
The official release describes a German-style Christmas market with ten planned shops, including decorations and food such as sausages and stollen. Think of it as an optional food-and-shopping stop rather than assuming it provides a complete dinner for everyone.
As of our check, the 2026 seasonal homepage says Roppongi details are scheduled for October 22. The initial announcement does not state market admission or reservation conditions. Check the detailed programme before relying on a “free entry” claim, and check menu prices at the stall before ordering.
Separate four possible costs: transport, food and drink, shopping, and any indoor attraction you add. Set your own spending limit rather than treating the absence of a published menu as a low-price promise. Confirm the accepted payment method before ordering; we have not tested foreign cards at the market.
Tokyo City View is a separate attraction. If you want an elevated view as well as the street lights, check its official admission information for your date. Do not buy an observatory ticket simply because you think it is a ticket to view the trees along the street.
This is also a different event from the named Tokyo Christmas Market at New Toyosu and Shiba Park. Their venue choices, admission products and conditions do not establish the rules at Roppongi Hills.

Tokyo Midtown is another venue, with another start date
Roppongi Hills and Tokyo Midtown are separate complexes. Tokyo Midtown’s announcement dates its main Christmas event to November 26–December 25, 2026, with its outdoor ice rink opening December 5. Those dates do not change when Keyakizaka starts.
If your trip is in early November, do not assume a photograph of Midtown’s Christmas garden shows something operating that evening. In late November or December, choose one complex first and add the other only if time and energy permit. A second venue is optional, especially after a long sightseeing day.
For navigation, Tokyo Midtown’s official access page identifies the Oedo Line’s Exit 8 as its direct connection. That is a useful distinction from the Roppongi Hills exits above. Its Hibiya Line guidance also warns that passengers needing step-free access should go via ground level.
Cold, rain and a shorter evening
Bring layers, comfortable shoes and a charged phone, then check the forecast and event updates before leaving. Give each person permission to shorten the walk. Families and older travelers can choose one light display and an indoor break instead of trying to complete every installation.
Pick an indoor alternative before heading out: a restaurant, cafe or separately booked attraction whose hours work for your date. Verify that venue directly. A covered market plaza does not make the entire street walk sheltered, and illumination hours do not determine restaurant last orders.
If visibility is poor or access is restricted, do not cross Tokyo solely to reproduce a photograph. Keep dinner or the indoor stop as the main plan. For a wider seasonal itinerary, use our Tokyo December guide and Japan Event Calendar.

Frequently asked questions
When does Keyakizaka illumination start in 2026?
November 5. The market starts November 21, so an early-November lights visit cannot include that market.
Do the lights stay on until 23:00?
The announced 2026 Keyakizaka schedule ends at 22:00. Other installations have different hours; older-season pages can show 23:00.
What should I visit after 21:00?
During its operating dates, prioritize a short Keyakizaka walk over the market. Allow time to reach it before its announced closing, with changes possible.
Can I see the Christmas programme on December 26?
The announcement ends Keyakizaka, the market and Mohri Garden on December 25. It separately lists 66 Plaza through December 27. Do not assume an extension elsewhere.
Is the market definitely free to enter?
The initial 2026 official announcement does not state admission conditions. Check the detailed seasonal page before visiting.
Which exit is useful for Roppongi Hills?
Hibiya Line Exit 1C connects to Roppongi Hills. The official access FAQ uses Oedo Line Exit 3. Ask for the elevator route if needed.
Are Roppongi Hills and Tokyo Midtown the same place?
No. Confirm the complex name before navigating. Midtown’s main Christmas event begins November 26; its direct Oedo Line connection is Exit 8.
Do I need Tokyo City View admission for a street photograph?
An observatory ticket is for that separate attraction. It is not the admission product for walking to Keyakizaka.
Can I rely on the pictures here for the route?
No. They are AI-generated conceptual images. Use official maps, signs and staff directions for the actual route.
Official sources
Checked October 20, 2026. Recheck dated information before travel.

Comments